6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|  
Report Content as Inappropriate

Break Your Maps!!!

MDFlash
This post was updated on .
By the way, now that I have written this, I apologize in advance for it being a bit long.  (I also apologize if someone has posted about this before.)  If you don't like reading, the bottom line is in the first few sentences.

Hey everyone.  I am by no means a forging expert but after seeing this be an issue in three different maps thus far, there is a simple "fine-tuning" suggesion that I wanted to make: try to break your map.  No, I don't mean after you've built it, see how fast you can delete the objects; what I mean is pull up your map in an untimed custom game, grab a jetpack or evade (and maybe some friends) and see what areas you can get into that weren't intended to be accessed.  This is especially an issue in forge world, but can be problematic even in small enclosed maps due to unintended ledges, etc.  Now, you may be thinking, "Well, that corner is up so high..." or, "Well, those rocks are so far away from the action in the game..." "...that it won't matter."  Wrong.  There are always people in games who want the highest ground possible (snipers), people who want to hide after a lead (HLGers), or people who just want to explore.  Second, these errors can drastically change the intended flow of gameplay and ruin the perception of what would have otherwise been a very good map.  So what can you do?  First, I would suggest dropping a soft safe zone around your entire map in forge after you're finished with building structure and placing vehicles to take care of any possible areas outside of the bubble you just dropped.  Next, get a jetpack and play your own map in a custom game, preferably at lesat once by yourself - no one knows it better than you (though having outsiders play can be helpful too, because they may look in places you never consider going).  Fly around; use the vehicles; try to get to a