classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
44 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

My Real Life

MythicFritz
This post was updated on .
A few of you after asking what I do for a living have asked for more details so I thought I'd post some info here. I work in theatre as an artist, craftsman, and technician. Meaning I design, build, and paint sets and props for theatre. I've worked for many different companies in many different capacities over the past few years so here are some pictures of things I've done to try and show what I do.

As carpenter for this show I built a lot of the walls of the house and the railing of the patio.

Jesus Christ Superstar
I was primary welder for this show and made about half of the bridgework, the scaffolding on the facade, and six rolling stair units.

I was a carpenter for this show, The Comedy of Errors

For this show I was the paint charge, or head painter for the season.

These are a pair of vanity tables I built for a show called I Do I Do.

This is a backdrop I painted with my crew. It measures about 20' by 40'.

I built these neon signs while another paint charge painted them.

Reply | Threaded
|

Current Work

MythicFritz
Now for an update of what I've been working on this past week.

This is the upper half of a set for a show called Twelfth Night that my company built a few months ago and then saved in storage after we were done with it. The past two weeks we pulled it out of storage and have been modifying it to fit in another theatre space for a different company. When we're done with it we will pack it back into a truck and ship it across the country to Nevada.

Here is a shot of some of the bracing I've been welding for the modifications
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Current Work

BadCompany Brik
That sounds like an awesome job, better than working in an office for sure.
-BCB-
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: My Real Job

richi
In reply to this post by MythicFritz