GodlyPerfection
Administrator
This post was updated on .

Map Balance
Connectivity
Flow
Architecture
Item Placement

So with my life going haywire lately I've been WAY behind. So I'm sorry. There was a point where I was probably not going to get H4 for weeks due to financial reasons, but I bought myself some buffer room and a couple other things have picked my spirits up. So again I apologize. Here is a bunch of stuff to read. Man... like fucking candy for you guys. lol...

URL: http://i55.tinypic.com/13yi6va.png

Wanna help spread the word about ReachingPerfection.com at other sites? Use the image above and link back to us.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Resource #18 [10/26, 10/27, 10/28, 10/29, 10/30]

Dr D04K
Map Balance:  Being a scientist by trade, I love this analytical approach of creating a null model, and incrementally adding complexity to it as a method of analyzing the roll various elements of a map play in altering gameplay.  Its a thought experiment I've done several times with my friends when debating our favorite maps and discussing why certain maps work and others don't.  Though, right off the bat, he misses one important point.  In a room, as he describes, it is not true that "No part of the map will see more action than another."  If you actually had an open square room as a map, and recorded a heat map of the action, you'd actually find that there are edge effects, which means there is reduced traffic on the perimeter of the map, likewise, I would guess there would actually be reduced activity in the very center because most players would die or avoid going there.  But again, this is a thought experiment I've taken some time running on my own.  So many great points, low vs. high ground affecting flow as well as connectivity.